Posted on

Muse – Madness – Song Review

 ‘Madness’ will gain fans, as well as lose some… 20/08/2012

You can listen to the song here.

Muse have been one of the world’s largest, most successful rock bands for a long time now, and the hype surrounding their latest effort ‘The 2nd Law’ isn’t surprising. The band have stated once again, that they will be experimenting new sounds on the album, such as dubstep (on Unsustainable). In the past, the band has claimed to experiment with new sounds, like before the release of their previous album ‘The Resistance’. However, throughout the waves of experimental sound, there has always been that one aspect of a Muse song that sounds like Muse, and when you listen to it, you still know its Matt, Dom and Chris behind that layer of bizarre. This is clear in the song ‘Survival’.

The same cannot be said however, for their newest single, ‘Madness’. It’s some sort of blend of R&B and electro music, with even more hints of Queen.

In my opinion, Matt’s voice doesn’t sound at all comfortable in this sort of song, it just doesn’t seem natural. The song has a voice throughout the song saying ‘Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-mad-mad-mad’ which I suppose isn’t a bad touch, but the song acts as if it could be built up into something a lot more than a U2-esque ending that sounds nothing like Muse at all.

Some people may fall in love with ‘Madness’, but sadly I’m not one of those people. In my opinion, ‘Madness’ is one of those songs that will gain fans, as well as lose some. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still a fan of Muse, but I honestly hope that ‘The 2nd Law’ holds more promising material.

By Daniel Tumani

About shavedtuna

Reviews of various movies and music nibbles.

5 responses to “Muse – Madness – Song Review

  1. Dave Lee

    a pretty spot-on assessment. its not a bad song by any means, its just not them

  2. Mick Coyle ⋅

    Sorry Daniel I couldn’t disagree more Madness is a masterpiece and Matt’s voice is brilliant throughout
    Madness needs a few twirls before it wraps its beauty around you listen to it loud with earphones and let the song do the rest
    N B Matts voice never struggles

    • That’s fair enough, I’m just saying that although it could be a good song, it doesn’t sound like Muse, even if they are experimenting. And I don’t think his voice struggles, I just feel it doesn’t sound natural with that sound. Thanks for the comment!

      • Lintur ⋅

        Probably you’re used to a certain kind of sound and you’re expecting that, ’cause for me Matt’s voice perfectly fits with the sound. I *love* the track. It has been long since the last time I was so excited about a piece of music. And it is getting better and better with every listening – got it on repeat all day and night now. 😀

  3. Christine

    I agree!!! I feel like the soul is missing from it. I have ever Muse album and although I might not like some songs I always appreciate them for what they are. This is the first time I have been disappointed. 😦

Leave a comment